The Great Expectation from Graduation

College Graduation. It’s a time in any young adult’s life to feel accomplished, liberated, loved, and ready for the world! I recently had the opportunity to experience this surreal occurrence from one of the top populated Universities in the United States of America.  My heart-pounded, my faced boomed with pride, and my sashay was on point as I glided into the “Black and Gold” arena filled with the faces of professors, deans, fellow graduating peers, and most importantly family and friends. I had given so much over the past four years; or even within the past forty-eight hours, to be THERE. To be THERE in that moment, to be THERE in that place, to be THERE as the first woman within my immediate family to receive a college degree. It was amazing!

My college graduation can be described in so many adjectives that it is uncanny, but right now I am choosing to personify it as a display of God’s love, power, and divine order. Forty-eight hours prior to graduation I felt as if my life was crumbling beneath me. It was the quintessential model of Murphy’s Law “Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong”. Broken promises, retracted RSVPs, and so on and so forth. It seemed that every obstacle that I faced was meant to break my spirits, and cause me to miss out on my special, long-awaited day. However, the devil is (and always WILL BE) a LIAR. When discouragement and doubt began to creep into my thoughts, I immediately began to counteract their presence through speaking life into my situation. In the scripture John 10:10, it states “The thief does not come except to kill, and to steal, and to destroy; but I have come so that they may have life, and have it more abundantly” (NKJV). Abundance of life does not correspond with fear, doubt, worry, or distress. The scripture Matthew 7:7-8, states “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. Everyone who asks, receives; and the one who seeks, finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened” (NKJV). Through this truth I started to speak into existence the things that I wanted to manifest within my situation. I sought out a trusted mentor and she began to pray in agreement with me, and together we began to shatter, break down, and crush the destructive walls of the enemy in the name of the Lord. In a matter of hours support started to manifest, peace settled into my heart, and I was filled with a calmness that had to be of a supernatural nature. I knew that God had my back, and all things were working for my greater good and benefit (Romans 8:28). Struggles that you face are meant to toughen you and prepare you for the greater life that awaits you. There can be no gratitude for triumph without hard-work, sweat, pain, and tears.

Looking back at my life-experiences, obstacles and triumphs, I have been truly blessed. There have been many people who have not encountered the hardships and downfalls that I have encountered; however, there are also many individuals who have not had the opportunities and blessings that I have had either.  I have had the chance to go various places, and meet and get to know various individuals who have poured into me and have helped me to grow as a person, woman, and Christian ten-fold. It’s a foreign concept for many of us to believe that we have the actual living God alive within us, but it is TRUE. As a child of God, I am in direct lineage to all of the benefits and powers that my Father, Jesus Christ, has ownership of. Unlimited favor and a life that is unlimited is within my reach, it just depends on how deeply I believe and how tenacious I am in acquiring it. Through this axiom: I am blessed, I behave and think in the realm of me being blessed, everything that I touch or is within the proximity of me is blessed,  and I declare new opportunities into my life and family members’ lives of health, growth, love, friendships, and support.

Despite the situation, I know what God has promised me and I will live inside the realm of great expectation and supernatural favor and blessings. I DECLARE this year to be of: MANIFESTATION, PERSONAL POWER, and SUPERNATURAL FAVOR, HEALING, AND GROWTH. I have planted the seed, now I will nurture it and watch it grow.

Sincerely,

A. Nicholson

© A. Nicholson, 2013-2013. All Rights Reserved.

4 thoughts on “The Great Expectation from Graduation

Leave a Reply

