Welcome to Self-Love

“There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.”

1 John 4:18

selfacceptance

Love is the only universal medium of communication that I can think of that has the power to unite and heal the hearts of the broken and mishandled. Love at its most pure form is used to rebuild and cleanse. It is used to renew and strengthen. But in today’s society, it seems that we are a culture that lacks in this essential ingredient for peace and harmony. In a world where we are consumed with social media as our primary form of communication, we are growing farther and farther away from actual human interaction. As a result, this makes it harder and harder to cultivate meaningful relationships that transcend superficial barriers, to connect with the actual person within. In my opinion, in order to truly love someone it is crucial to put in the work and the effort to reach this connective ground. However, in a world where we constantly hide behind the illusion of Instagram filters – I can understand how it may be a bit of a task to reveal your true-self to another individual. The fear that is associated with being vulnerable, removing yourself out of your comfort zone, and being someone else’s open book, is quite intense – especially for me.

Conversely, a lack of vulnerability is a double-edged sword. On one end you are shielding yourself from the hurt and pain that other people may bring; however, you are also cutting yourself off from potential life-changing relationships that may have the possibility of advancing self-growth and happiness. Isolating a part or parts of yourself from others, in the long run, is only operating as a disservice to yourself. By closing yourself off, and not allowing others to get to know the REAL you (all of you), it only creates an additional façade that will have to be played into. In this space, it can be very isolating and lonely, because no one will truly know who you are….because you won’t let them.

I am deeply inspired by the author Sarah Jakes Roberts, and one of her quotes has helped me along my journey to authenticity and self-love, she states “Fear can not isolate you If you allow love to surround you.” The love that she speaks of can come from any source. God is love, and as a complex construct of our creator we all have a constant stream of love that radiates from us – whether we like it or not. To know that I have the greatest power EVER on my side, makes it possible for me to not be afraid to be vulnerable with others, and to allow them to get to know me. Since I know that God loves me, I have no reason not to love myself – no reason at all. God has accepted me. God has embraced me. God has covered me. This information inspires me to love others and to receive the love they have to give. If my desire is to expand my life-encounters for happiness, love, and joy, I have to put myself out there and not fear the outcome. When God guides, he will provide exactly what you need to succeed.

Sincerely,

A. Nicholson

 © A. Nicholson, 2013-2014. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

